Skip to content

Business & Economy

North East business figures shortlisted for Institute of Directors Awards

A number of North East business men and women have been shortlisted for honours at the Institute of Directors 2019 Director of the Year Awards.

The finalists are drawn from across Yorkshire and the North East and represent the full spectrum of business and industry, from young entrepreneurs to experienced public and private sector leaders.

They include Dr Arnab Basu MBE, chief executive of Kromek Group, based at NETPark, in Sedgefield, County Durham, pictured left, who is nominated in two categories, and Sharon Lane, of Tees Components, in east Cleveland.

David Winton, of The Energy Check, based in South Shields, is also on the list, as is Benjamin Maughan, of Chester-le-Street’s Epic Social Limited, and Timothy John Rix, of J.R. Rix & Sons, which runs its North East petroleum depot out of Alnwick.

Jack Deverson, of Sunderland’s Evidence Based Education is nominated twice, with Claire Malcolm, of Newcastle’s New Writing North, and Martin Allison, of Boldon’s Rosedale Advisory, also shortlisted.

Heidi Mottram OBE, chief executive of Northumbria Water, and Entrepreneurs’ Forum board member Nigel Mills CBE are both shortlisted for the Chairman’s Award, the latter for his role with Lakes Distillery.

The winners’ names will be revealed at an awards dinner at the Principal York hotel on July 4.

Winners will then go forward to represent the region at the UK Director of the Year finals.

The judging panel was chaired by Simon Walton, managing partner at Berwick Partners/Odgers Berndtson, Leeds.

Jon Geldart, chair of Institute of Directors Yorkshire and North East, said: “Congratulations are due to everyone who has made this shortlist, which is a fantastic achievement itself.

“The quality of nominations was very high, which led to some difficult deliberations.”

Dr Joanna Berry, vice-chair of Institute of Directors Yorkshire and North East, said: “I’m looking forward to an excellent evening on July 4, where we will celebrate business excellence and reward those who have contributed so much to our regional economy.”

The full awards shortlist is:


Clair Challenor-Chadwick, Cause UK

Geoff Shepherd, iSource Group

James Cain, Harrogate Spring Water


Andrew Lane, Union Industries

David Winton, The Energy Check

Debbie Heald MBE. Heald Ltd

Dr Arnab Basu MBE, Kromek Group

Ian Skiggs, Teledyne Defence & Space

James Cain, Harrogate Spring Water

Lee J Walker, The Business Desk

Mike Maddock, Performance Engineering Solutions

Nigel Brewster, Brewster Partners

Oliver North, O&H Vehicle Technology

Poonam Kaur, FDS

Ravi Sharma, Pet Brands

Zandra Moore, Panintelligence

Family Business 

Lesley Wild, Bettys & Taylors of Harrogate

Sharon Lane, Tees Components

Timothy John Rix, J.R. Rix & Sons


Charlotte Armitage, Yorkshire Academy of Film and TV

Charlotte Sweeney, Charlotte Sweeney Associates

Christine Madeley, Madeley Enterprises

Edward Asquith, Four Tigers Media

Start Up         

Geoff Shepherd, Think Summits

Benjamin Maughan, Epic Social Limited

Dr William Beer, Tunley Engineering Limited


Anthea Morris, Better 2 Know

Debbie Heald MBE, Heald Ltd

Dr Arnab Basu MBE, Kromek Group PLC

Jack Deverson, Evidence Based Education

Martin Port, Big Change

Zandra Moore, Panintelligence


David Langworth, NM Group

Debbie Heald MBE, Heald Ltd

Mark Gilroy, TMS Development International

Prof Adam Beaumont, AQL

Third Sector

Kate Hainsworth, Leeds Community Foundation

Adeem Younis, Penny Appeal

Claire Malcolm, New Writing North

Large Business  

Jacqui Hall, CNG

Richard Smith, Surfachem


Colin Glass OBE, Shine

Martin Allison, Rosedale Advisory

Prof Adam Beaumont, AQL and NorthInvest


Jack Deverson, Evidence Based Education

Drew McGilvray, Cater-Clean Solutions

Oliver North, O&H Vehicle Technology

Chairman’s Award   

Heidi Mottram OBE, Northumberland Water

Lesley Wild, Bettys & Taylors of Harrogate

Linda Pollard CBE DL, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Nigel Mills CBE, Lakes Distillery

Roger Marsh OBE, Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership