Skip to content

Business & Economy

Sunderland College music team win FE award

The music department at Sunderland College is celebrating after securing a Pearson’s Silver Teaching award for FE Team of the Year.

With thousands of nominations from across the UK, Sunderland College’s music team is one of just 68 Silver Award winners who will be celebrated.

The award coincides with ‘Thank a Teacher Day’, which is all about celebrating excellence in education.

Ellen Thinnesen, principal and chief executive at Sunderland College, said: “I’m incredibly proud of our music team. Tony, John and Janek are dedicated professionals who embody our professional values and strategic goals daily to the benefit of every single student, at a critical time for the future of the arts.”

Now in its 21st year, the Pearson National Teaching awards is an annual celebration of exceptional teachers, founded by Lord Puttnam to recognise the life-changing impact an inspirational teacher can have on the lives of the young people they teach.

The music team at Sunderland College follow the lead of colleague Jonathan Wharton who won Teacher of the Year at the 2018 awards.

They will now be shortlisted to win one of the gold awards at this year’s ‘Oscars for Teachers’, held at the Roundhouse in October.

These awards from Pearson are highly regarded. Previous presenters include former Prime Ministers David Cameron and Tony Blair.

Rod Bristow, President of Pearson UK, said:“Congratulations to all of our Silver award winners being presented with a sliver trophy by their students and senior management team today.

“On Thank a Teacher Day, it’s a wonderful chance for them to say thank you to their award-winning teachers. We mustn’t forget that these students may well be the next generation of teachers, and that’s all thanks to the commitment of those currently in the profession.

“Recognising and celebrating teachers for the lasting impact they have on young people’s lives is crucial, and that’s why Pearson is delighted to support these awards every year.”